Our Elected Officials

Northfield Township is fortunate to have a number of dedicated public servants working for our community. Here are the elected officials serving our township:

Barack Obama
U.S. President
BiographyBarack Obama Barack H. Obama is the 44th President of the United States. His story is the American story — values from the heartland, a middle-class upbringing in a strong family, hard work and education as the means of getting ahead, and the conviction that a life so blessed should be lived in service to [...]
Dick Durbin
U.S. Senator
BiographyDick Durbin Senator Dick Durbin was first elected to the U.S. Senate in 1996 after representing central and southern Illinois in the U.S. House of Representatives for 14 years. Today, Dick serves as the Assistant Democratic Leader (also known as the Democratic Whip) — the second-ranking Democrat in the Senate—and on the Senate Judiciary, Appropriations, [...]
Tammy Duckworth
U.S. Senator
BiographyTammy Duckworth Tammy Duckworth is running to represent Illinois in the United States Senate. Following her career as a helicopter pilot in the U.S. Army, Tammy worked as an advocate for Veterans at both the state and federal level. Tammy was elected to the House of Representatives in 2012, where she has been an active [...]
Lisa Madigan
Illinois Attorney General
BiographyLisa Madigan Lisa Madigan’s public service record is one of many “firsts.” The first woman elected to serve as Attorney General of Illinois, Madigan is now the senior most female Attorney General in the country. She is also the first Illinois Attorney General to argue a case before the U.S. Supreme Court in nearly three [...]
Susana Mendoza
Illinois Comptroller
BiographySusana Mendoza Susana A. Mendoza was sworn in for her second term as Chicago City Clerk on May 18, 2015. As the first woman ever elected to the Office of the City Clerk, she successfully transitioned 1.3 million customers away from an inefficient and archaic seasonal Chicago City Vehicle Sticker sales program dating back 105 [...]
Jesse White
Illinois Secretary of State
BiographyJesse White Jesse White is Illinois' 37th Secretary of State. White was first elected to the office in 1998 and won landslide victories in 2002, in which he won all 102 counties, and again in 2006 and 2010. On November 4, 2014, White was re-elected to a record-breaking fifth term, winning another landslide victory by [...]
Janice Schakowsky
U.S. Congress, 9th District
BiographyJan Schakowsky Jan Schakowsky has been a lifelong consumer advocate and a champion for, what she sees as, the disappearing middle class.  From her days as a young housewife who led the campaign to put expiration dates on food products to the 2008 passage of legislation she helped write making children’s products and toys safe, [...]
Brad Schneider
U.S. Congress, 10th District
BiographyBrad Schneider From 2013-2015, Brad represented the 10th District of Illinois in the 113th Congress. In Congress and at home, Brad has focused on strengthening the middle class, rebuilding a vibrant economy and breaking through partisan gridlock to help move our country forward.
Daniel Biss
State Senator, 9th District
BiographyDaniel Biss Daniel Biss, a former mathematics professor, represents the 9th District in the Illinois State Senate. Prior to that, he served one term in the House representing the 17th District. Since joining the legislature in 2011, Daniel has earned a reputation as a thoughtful, effective elected official, passing legislation on key issues including environmental policy, [...]
Karen Yarbrough
Cook County Recorder of Deeds
BiographyKaren Yarbrough Karen A. Yarbrough, Cook County Recorder of Deeds and Registrar of Titles, is a full-time administrator, overseeing a $12 million budget and 160 employees – the 2nd largest Recorder’s office in the United States. In that role, she has established herself as a national leader in the growing movement to change the office [...]