2018 Primary Endorsements

Thank you to the 100+ Democrats who attended Sunday’s Democrats of Northfield Township Endorsement Session!

Below are the endorsement results, including the candidates that have earned an endorsement from the Democrats of Northfield Township.

Daniel Biss
93% of local Democrats supported Daniel Biss for Governor. Chris Kennedy and JB Pritzker declined invitations to participate.
We’ll be hosting phone banks for Biss for Illinois from our HQ on Sunday afternoons. Sign up for one here.
Attorney General
No Endorsement
All eight candidates for Attorney General, in ballot order, appeared and spoke on Sunday afternoon: Pat Quinn, Renato Mariotti, Scott Drury, Nancy Rotering, Kwame Raoul, Jesse Ruiz, Sharon Fairley, & Aaron Goldstein. Nancy Rotering received 57% of the votes, leading to a runoff with the second highest voted candidate, Jesse Ruiz. The second vote total was similar. No endorsement was made. We encourage our local Democrats to learn more about this race.
Jennifer Gong-Gershowitz
State Representative, 17th District
93% of local Democrats supported Jennifer Gong-Gershowitz for State Represenative, 17th District. Candance Chow and Mary Rita Luecke appeared and spoke, Theresa Coomer spoke for Alexandra Eidenberg, and Peter Dagher did not appear.
Join Jen and local supporters on Tuesday, February 6, 7pm, The Curragh, 8266 Lincoln Ave., Skokie. RSVP here.
Toni Preckwinkle
Cook County Board President
96% of local Democrats supported re-electing Toni Preckwinkle as Cook County Board President. Bob Fioretti appeared and spoke.
Follow President Preckwinkle on Twitter for updates on her work, here.
Cook County Treasurer
No Endorsement
Both candidates for Cook County Treasurer, Maria Pappas and Peter Gariepy, appeared and spoke on Sundayafternoon. Treasurer Pappas received 45% of the votes. No endorsement was made. We encourage our local Democrats to learn more about this race.
Fritz Kaegi
Cook County Assessor
93% of local Democrats supported Fritz Kaegi for Cook County Assessor. Assessor Joe Berrios and Andrea Raila also appeared and spoke.
Volunteers for Fritz for Assessor are needed for phone banking, walking, and other pre-election activities. Sign up here.
We are also pleased to announce that we will be supporting the following County-slated candidates:
Debra Shore, Kari Steele, Marty Durkan, and Kim DuBuclet for MWRD
Jack Hagerty, Hon. Preston Jones, Jr., Hon. Claire Quish, Hon. Oran Whiting, Hon. Cecilia Anne Horan, Jonathan Clark Green, Thomas McGuire, Rosa Maria Silva, Tom Sianis, and Peter Michael Gonzalez for Cook County Judicial Vacancies.
For Cook County 12th Judicial Subcircuit, we will support Joel Chupack.
We are also pleased to endorse the following candidates in uncontested races:
Jan Schakowsky, IL-9
Brad Schneider, IL-10
Jesse White, Secretary of State
Susana Mendoza, Comptroller
Michael Frerichs, Treasurer
State Legislature
Laura Fine, Senate 9th
Julie Morrison, Senate 29th
Robyn Gabel, Representative 18th
Jonathan Carroll, Representative 57th
Bob Morgan, Representative 58th
Cook County
Thomas Dart, Sheriff
Karen Yarbrough, Clerk
Scott Britton, County Board 14th District
Democratic Party Offices
Michael Cabonargi, State Central Committeeman 9th
Carol Ronen, State Central Committeewoman 9th
Daniel Pierce, State Central Committeeman 10th
Lauren Beth Gash, State Central Committeeman 10th
Tracy Katz Muhl, Northfield Township Committeeman
Thank you again to everyone who turned out, and see you all soon!